The Web's Only Official All-Scorpion Forum!
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

The Web's Only Official All-Scorpion Forum!

HomePortalSearchLatest imagesRegisterLog in
ChatBox

Noob Question about Emperors

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
gtm15782
Pandinus

Number of posts : 12
Registration date : 2012-06-17

Noob Question about Emperors Empty
PostSubject: Noob Question   Noob Question about Emperors Empty6/17/2012, 5:25 pm

Hi All

Im new to keeping scorps and have well and truly become obsessed with them (readin some of the threads I feel I'm in the right place lol)

Here is my Question

I have a total of 5 emps now (I know I have a problem) I have 3 small juveniles that are about 2 - 3 inch's long that I keep in a large exo terra faunarium with about 4 inch's of damp soil, ambient temp is about 80f and there is a basking area of about 88f

The other 2 are larger females approximatly 4 inch's and they are kept in a large Exo terra 60x45x60cm viv heated by a ceramic heater stated to about 84f, these have about 12inchs of moist soil slanted upwards from the front, but both chose to use the same hide near the top.

These 2 females are absolute monsters and would eat everyday if I let them, they never leave there burrow they just take it in turns waiting at the entrance for muggings here to feed them.

The 3 smaller one however started off eating ferociously but have slowed dramatically, they are still feeding but only at night when I'm not watching. They have dug a 3 entrance burrow that all 3 use (1 at each entrance) but when I offer food they get scared and hide in the burrow.

Is there a way I can improve there appetites to get them to feed more, I am planning of introducing them into the Larger tank when they reach a similar size but at this rate that won't be till they are fully grown!