The Web's Only Official All-Scorpion Forum!
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

The Web's Only Official All-Scorpion Forum!

HomePortalSearchLatest imagesRegisterLog in
ChatBox

Heterometrus longimanus

Go down 
+6
LXDNG79
binksyboy3
the lycan mikey
Mr. Mordax
titus
Solrac1993
10 posters
AuthorMessage
Solrac1993
Pandinus
Solrac1993

Number of posts : 8
Registration date : 2010-05-09

Heterometrus longimanus Empty
PostSubject: Heterometrus longimanus   Heterometrus longimanus Empty5/11/2010, 3:41 am

Hello everybody, I am new here and I'm a noob. I am about to buy my first scorpion. It's a couple of Heterometrus longimanus (I would like to breed them), I have many experience with reptiles but none with arachnids, so if anyone could give me some info that would be great!
Back to top Go down
titus
Pandinus
titus

Number of posts : 6

PostSubject: Re: Heterometrus longimanus   Heterometrus longimanus Empty5/11/2010, 4:03 am

I'm abit new to scorpions myself but can tell you from keeping taratulas and other inverts. That you are looking at a lot less work. In all I feel that the caging is most important, if the cage keeps the temps and humidity and provides for enough air flow to pervent mold. The only thing you have to worry about is misting, feeding and cleaning. I would recommend using a false bottom set up like most do using rocks under the substrate, I normally use the Expanded clay pellets (after a good washing) that are used for hydroculture, because of the weight.
Back to top Go down
Mr. Mordax
Administrator
Mr. Mordax

Number of posts : 7743
Registration date : 2008-02-06

PostSubject: Re: Heterometrus longimanus   Heterometrus longimanus Empty5/11/2010, 10:14 pm

Keep it warm.

Keep it humid.

Give 'em a few inches of substrate (such as coconut fiber).

If they don't eat, don't panic.

Don't put a heat mat on the underside of the tank.

That's pretty much the basics.
Back to top Go down
Solrac1993