The Web's Only Official All-Scorpion Forum!
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

The Web's Only Official All-Scorpion Forum!

HomePortalSearchLatest imagesRegisterLog in
ChatBox

Newbie here..please help

Go down 
+2
mrflibble
leon
6 posters
AuthorMessage
leon
Pandinus
leon

Number of posts : 15
Registration date : 2009-08-21

Newbie here..please help Empty
PostSubject: Newbie here..please help   Newbie here..please help Empty8/21/2009, 11:16 am

i was wondering if someone could help me distinguish a juvenile flat rock scorpion from a juvenile bark scorpion. Any distinct features that i could compare it from each other?? because i bought a scorpion and they said it was a bark scorpion but from the looks of it, it looks like a flat rock scorpion. (comparison of pictures found on the internet)

Note: i don't know the age but the size is a bout an inch from head to the tip of the tail.
Back to top Go down
mrflibble
Centruroides
mrflibble

Number of posts : 222
Registration date : 2008-11-29

PostSubject: Re: Newbie here..please help   Newbie here..please help Empty8/21/2009, 11:39 am

could you post pictures? that would help, it should be fairly obvious, although it does depend what species you mean by those common names
Back to top Go down
Mr. Mordax
Administrator
Mr. Mordax

Number of posts : 7743
Registration date : 2008-02-06

PostSubject: Re: Newbie here..please help   Newbie here..please help Empty8/21/2009, 12:57 pm

Flat rocks (Hadogenes spp.) have very skinny tails. Bark scorpions (myriad of genera, "bark scorpion" is about as unspecific as "forest scorpion) typically have fairly average-looking tails.

Flatties also have fairly robust chela (pinchers) even at an early age and are grey. Barks are all in the Buthidae family and will usually have quite slender chela and are usually shades of brown, yellow, or orange.
Back to top Go down
leon
Pandinus
leon