The Web's Only Official All-Scorpion Forum!
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

The Web's Only Official All-Scorpion Forum!

HomePortalSearchLatest imagesRegisterLog in
ChatBox

Newbie Here with questions

Go down 
5 posters
AuthorMessage
Namerifrats
Pandinus

Number of posts : 9
Registration date : 2009-09-27

Newbie Here with questions Empty
PostSubject: Newbie Here with questions   Newbie Here with questions Empty9/28/2009, 1:55 am

Newbie here with a couple questions. Looking to pick up an Emperor Scorpion in the next few days. I have a 10 gal Aquarium I bought for keep it in with wire top. Gonna pick up a Reptile water dish also for it. About the dish, does it need to be big enough for the scorpion to fit in completely? I was thinking maybe an inch deep or less to keep it from drowning. Substrate is another question. I read about the "organic potting soil" that some people use. Got a bag yesterday, but it's Miracle Grow brand. Says natural fertilizer. Would this work, or should I try to find something else? I read about these blocks coco fiber. Where can I get it, whats it cost, and how much would I need for a 10 gal.
Back to top Go down
binksyboy3
Androctonus
binksyboy3

Number of posts : 1690
Registration date : 2009-03-05

PostSubject: Re: Newbie Here with questions   Newbie Here with questions Empty9/28/2009, 2:25 am

I use coco fibre which is a type of soil. costs around £1/$3 for a block. In my opinion the best soil substrate. I don't know where you live and so i can't say where you can buy it from.

Water dish needs to be shallow enough for the scorp to stand in.

As for the miracle grow with natural fertilizer, i wouldn't use it and i would go get some coir (coco fibre).
But wait for someone else on the forum to agree with me before you get coco fibre and not use the mircale grow.

Hope this helps Very Happy
Back to top Go down
Namerifrats
Pandinus