The Web's Only Official All-Scorpion Forum!
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

The Web's Only Official All-Scorpion Forum!

HomePortalSearchLatest imagesRegisterLog in
ChatBox

New to scorpionkeeping, and a problem

Go down 
5 posters
AuthorMessage
puttynuts
Pandinus
puttynuts

Number of posts : 3
Registration date : 2009-01-22

New to scorpionkeeping, and a problem Empty
PostSubject: New to scorpionkeeping, and a problem   New to scorpionkeeping, and a problem Empty2/16/2009, 8:45 pm

Hi there, I'm fairly new to this hobby, having had a couple of these guys for a month or so. I live on Vancouver Island, in Victoria, BC. Right now here, it is "winter". We don't get winter here like most Canadians, but it is very cool here, around 0 C to 6 C, with some subzero days.
I like my apartment to be fairly cool, around 18 C to 21 C. This poses a problem for the scorpions, it seems like I'm always fighting the temperature. And because I'm always putting the heat to them, I am misting 3 to 4 times per day, just to maintain humidity. The electric heat keeps my house very dry. The temperature ranges from 23 C to 29 C, with humidity varying between 60% and 85%.
I originally bought two emperors, third in-star I think, from a local pet store. These poor things were living on bark, "basking" in the glow of an incandescent bulb. I took them home, and they happily explored their new home. This weekend, I went and got (rescued) their other two tank mates. On the way home, I noticed one of them was very sluggish, sometimes getting rolled over due to cornering and bumps, but not even making an effort to right himself.