The Web's Only Official All-Scorpion Forum!
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

The Web's Only Official All-Scorpion Forum!

HomePortalSearchLatest imagesRegisterLog in
ChatBox

Parabuthus transvaalicus

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
Andrew Leigh
Centruroides

Number of posts : 107
Registration date : 2012-01-03

Parabuthus transvaalicus Empty
PostSubject: Parabuthus transvaalicus   Parabuthus transvaalicus Empty1/4/2015, 1:54 pm

(Post split from thegromgroms breeding report to avoid cluttering his thread)

Hi,

The one area at 105 deg. is hotter than I would expect (for captive scorp's that is, but I am no expert by any means) although I have just caught (one week ago at the height of our summer) two p.trans in their local habitat (in the North East of South Africa) and daytime temps were 100 - 105 deg. which is normal, dropping to 90 deg. at night. The RH was 60+ with many days over 85% and some at 100% during bouts of rain.

I am keen to emulate your setup, and would have a couple of questions for you if I may;

a) The anticipated enclosure that I want to use is a fish tank (18" wide x 9" deep X 11" high) has a top that seals pretty well but for 1.5" hole in the top for cables and food delivery. If I were to place the temperature sensor at the "hot spot" based on previous experiments I would not get the temperature differential you have across the enclosure. How have you managed to achieve this?

b) At what humidity do you maintain the enclosure?

c) What is the size of the enclosure and the wattage of the heat source?

Thanks

Last edited by Callum B on 1/8/2015, 5:04 pm; edited 2 times in total (Reason for editing : Split topic)
Back to top Go down
thegromgrom
Breeder
thegromgrom

Number of posts : 172
Registration date : 2013-03-31

PostSubject: Re: Parabuthus transvaalicus   Parabuthus transvaalicus Empty1/7/2015, 9:15 am