The Web's Only Official All-Scorpion Forum!
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

The Web's Only Official All-Scorpion Forum!

HomePortalSearchLatest imagesRegisterLog in
ChatBox

Wild scorpions in Sheerness.

Go down 
2 posters
AuthorMessage
jaySteel
Pandinus
jaySteel

Number of posts : 38
Registration date : 2012-02-12

Wild scorpions in Sheerness. Empty
PostSubject: Wild scorpions in Sheerness.   Wild scorpions in Sheerness. Empty2/13/2012, 10:27 am

Hi everyone.
I've introduced myself in to the introductions section of the forum. I'm an amateur wildlife photographer with an interest in photographing these scorpions found at Sheerness.

After initially reading the threads started by 'Bex' on these Sheerness scorpions I've learnt as much as I can on the subject. I thank Bex and others for sharing information on these scorpions.
Thankfully I've come in contact with a guy who lives in the Sheerness area who has a close friend who works in the docks. I'm now hoping to be able to collect a couple of these scorpions from inside of the docks to photograph. If this guy can't get me a pass into the docks personally then he's kindly going to collect a couple of scorpions himself for me to photograph. Thanks Roger! (I know you're reading this forum too!)
From reading all the previous accounts from others on this forum that have collected specimens themselves from Sheerness that those scorpions found inside of the docks seem to be larger than those found on the outside of the wall. We've come to the conclusion that this is likely to be because of a more plentiful and varied source of prey for the scorpions found living in the docks. Is this the likely reason for the difference in size or can anyone on here suggest another good explanation for it?