The Web's Only Official All-Scorpion Forum!
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

The Web's Only Official All-Scorpion Forum!

HomePortalSearchLatest imagesRegisterLog in
ChatBox

Newbie Questions about Substrates and Heating

Go down 
5 posters
AuthorMessage
MachRhAYNe
Pandinus
MachRhAYNe

Number of posts : 13
Registration date : 2010-01-13

Newbie Questions about Substrates and Heating Empty
PostSubject: Newbie Questions about Substrates and Heating   Newbie Questions about Substrates and Heating Empty1/13/2010, 4:11 am

So...i'm a newb to the emp world. Just brought one home two days ago. Everything seems to be going fine but I had a couple of questions.

I have a ceramic heater and I'm wondering if I should leave it on all the time? I do not have any supplemental heating as the ceramic keeps the tank around 80-85 degrees. I live in Idaho and it's cold here...lol. If I turn the heater off at night then the tank temp drops to about 65 degrees and this has got to be way too cold.

Also, I didn't know the first thing about proper emp substrates when I bought my emp. I had a savannah monitor for about 2 years and I used ground english walnut shells for his substrate...so I've been using the same thing for my emp. Is this bad? It doesn't seem that this sandlike substance would be good for burrowing.

Thanks for putting up with newbie questions. Any answers would be appreciated. :HeathJoker:
Back to top Go down
binksyboy3
Androctonus
binksyboy3

Number of posts : 1690
Registration date : 2009-03-05

PostSubject: Re: Newbie Questions about Substrates and Heating   Newbie Questions about Substrates and Heating Empty1/13/2010, 12:58 pm

You don't need to turn the heater off as the emp will either move to the cooler section of the vivarium or burrow to get away from the heat Smile

as for the substrate coco fibre works really well and so does most soil/peat mixture sorts
Back to top Go down
bjaeger
Leiurus