The Web's Only Official All-Scorpion Forum!
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

The Web's Only Official All-Scorpion Forum!

HomePortalSearchLatest imagesRegisterLog in
ChatBox

Mounting and preserving dead specimens

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
TheKevil
Babycurus
TheKevil

Number of posts : 335
Registration date : 2010-11-05

Mounting and preserving dead specimens Empty
PostSubject: Mounting and preserving dead specimens   Mounting and preserving dead specimens Empty7/23/2013, 12:04 am

So my female P. trans died today. Sad I'm wanting to mount her and preserve her, but I've never done anything like that before. I'd like to make it to where I can take her to my office and mount her there and I'd prefer to do a dry Riker mount.

Has anyone ever done this with a larger scorpion species before? What is the best method?

I've heard for some smaller bugs that you should soak them in alcohol for a couple days first to dry them out, but I have also read a couple pages that say that for scorpions, alcohol soaking isn't necessary and that as long as you pin it before rigor sets in, you can shape it and pin it how you need to and it will dry out perfectly fine on it's own. Then, I also saw an Instructable article that said to gut the scorpion and fill it, basically like you would with taxidermy.
Back to top Go down
ShredderEmp
Tityus
ShredderEmp

Number of posts : 515
Registration date : 2012-08-08

PostSubject: Re: Mounting and preserving dead specimens   Mounting and preserving dead specimens Empty7/23/2013, 1:08 am

So sorry about that man. Too bad she was knocked up too. When Shredder died JZCtarantulafan from AB offered to mount him for me. Maybe you could talk to him about that or I could speak on your behalf.
Back to top Go down
TheKevil
Babycurus
TheKevil

PostSubject: Re: Mounting and preserving dead specimens   Mounting and preserving dead specimens Empty7/23/2013, 1:26 am