The Web's Only Official All-Scorpion Forum!
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

The Web's Only Official All-Scorpion Forum!

HomePortalSearchLatest imagesRegisterLog in
ChatBox

New too this thing!

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
Nickscorpion
Pandinus

Number of posts : 3
Registration date : 2014-10-12

New too this thing! Empty
PostSubject: New too this thing!   New too this thing! Empty10/12/2014, 10:23 pm

Hey guys! im new to scorpions and all these creatures. I have kept poison dart frogs and have been researching a little on scorpions. So far i have heard emperor scorpions are the best for the first time. Would you guys agree? If not which scorpion? I know they need:

10 gallons ish per scorpion
high humidity
upper 70 to lower 80 for temperature
hides
no specific lighting
water
they are nocturnal
they burrow a lot

And that is the basics. Im sure i know some more small things like food but what would you say im missing? Also what scorpion do you recommend for a beginner?
Back to top Go down
Jay
SCORPIONMOD
Jay

Number of posts : 1250
Registration date : 2010-05-05

PostSubject: Re: New too this thing!   New too this thing! Empty10/13/2014, 5:35 am

Welcome! Seems like you are on the right track and good on you for doing your research before hand. It really depends on what your interested in keeping though. The conditions you describe suit a forest scorpion but it'd obviously be quite the opposite for a desert scorp.

Only thing I notice there really is I keep them a tad warmer in the mid to upper 80's, if you can give them a temperature gradient then even better. Also make sure to provide them with a deep enough substrate to burrow in and one that holds a burrow and humidity well like coco fibre/eco earth.

Anyway as you say the emperors are a recommended beginner scorp but really any forest scorp from Heterometrus or Pandinus are just as easy to care for, basically exactly the same.