The Web's Only Official All-Scorpion Forum!
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

The Web's Only Official All-Scorpion Forum!

HomePortalSearchLatest imagesRegisterLog in
ChatBox

Substrate Question

Go down 
+4
Shakudo
Patcho
~Abyss~
ikissedafrog
8 posters
AuthorMessage
ikissedafrog
Pandinus
ikissedafrog

Number of posts : 17
Registration date : 2013-03-18

Substrate Question Empty
PostSubject: Substrate Question   Substrate Question Empty3/18/2013, 6:03 pm

Hi everyone! I'm a newbie here to the scorpion forums, just joined up because I'm starting to develop quite a fascination with scorpions! Right now, I just have a pair of Hoffmannius spinigerus (stripe-tail scorpions)...I kinda picked them up on a whim last year, and for being dinky little things, I actually like them quite a bit! I'm starting to think about picking up a second species sometime soon! Smile

Anyway, my question is about substrate for my current pair. Right now, they're on straight sand. They seem to be doing fine, they dig and climb on rocks and do normal scorpion things. I've just been wondering if there was something more suitable though....I've been thinking about mixing sand with something like coco fiber to make the substrate more 'fluffy' and stable for their digging. Or, is there some other mix you guys use or would recommend?
Back to top Go down
~Abyss~
Administrator
~Abyss~

Number of posts : 6472
Registration date : 2008-02-05

Substrate Question Empty
PostSubject: Re: Substrate Question   Substrate Question Empty3/18/2013, 6:08 pm

V. spinigerus does good in most types of environment. They don’t really like it bone-dry like but moisture will cause mycosis. Your idea of 50/50 sand/coco fiber is actually my recommendation. Maybe even occasionally drop a little bit of water in the coco to raise humidity or offer a bottle cap of water. Ohhh..and welcome to the forum!! You started with a great species.
Back to top Go down