The Web's Only Official All-Scorpion Forum!
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

The Web's Only Official All-Scorpion Forum!

HomePortalSearchLatest imagesRegisterLog in
ChatBox

Amblypygids, offspring and fungus

Go down 
AuthorMessage

Amblypygids, offspring and fungus Empty
PostSubject: Amblypygids, offspring and fungus   Amblypygids, offspring and fungus Empty8/1/2012, 2:38 pm

Hello All,
Firstly, please excuse my ignorance and please correct me if I mess up any terms (I'll ? them if I'm unsure of my terminology). I am a novice scorpion keeper. I am looking to learn all I can about their captive care, biology, etc.

I have a pair of amplypygids - the female is gravid (?). I am keeping them in an enclosure with coconut husk fiber substrate with a layer of oak and magnolia leaves. Two pieces of bark (found outside, boiled and baked) are piled up for hiding and climbing. The gravid female's eggs look as though they are very soon to hatch - I can see the pedipalps (?, I am guessing the "arm" structure of the amblypygids have their own name) of the offspring inside. What concerns me is there seems to be a white layer of fungus (or so it seems, not sure what it is) growing underneath her over the eggs. It must be very recent, having formed this week. I have since provided more ventilation (assuming this may be humidity related). Maybe it is from some of the outside bark/leaves that I brought in? I have read they like high humidity and can even survive under water for over 24 hours... so I'd be surprised if it were solely from humidity and ventilation. Should I be concerned? She seems to be in good health and active as usual. I will say that I have noticed a similar white material on scorpions that recently gave birth. Here is the individual below:

https://scorpionforum.darkbb.com/t8638-amblypygid

Thanks for all your help, any thoughts?

Sean
Back to top Go down
Scorpion19981000
Administrator