The Web's Only Official All-Scorpion Forum!
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

The Web's Only Official All-Scorpion Forum!

HomePortalSearchLatest imagesRegisterLog in
ChatBox

My Scolopendra subspinipes story and their enclosures

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
mindstorm
Pandinus

Number of posts : 3
Registration date : 2011-10-27

My Scolopendra subspinipes story and their enclosures Empty
PostSubject: My Scolopendra subspinipes story and their enclosures   My Scolopendra subspinipes story and their enclosures Empty6/25/2012, 12:16 pm

Hi everyone, here's my Scolopendra subspinipes story.
Just got 4 of them (4-6 inches) from Alex. This is my first time keeping so many of these giants. Boy, these guys are fast with bad attitudes. Out of foolishness, I tried to house 4 of them in one huge container which had 5 hiding places for them. The reason I did this was because I had kept the smaller common ones(adults) I found around my house together with no problems. They seem to get along well nesting in the same nest. But the giant ones I got really dislike each other. The moment I placed the last one into the big container, it scrambled under the same bark which another one had entered causing the first one to tunnel out the other end. And then a small havoc started. 2 of them, which are roughly the same size, kept running round the edges of the container and everytime their feelers touched they immediately turned and run the other way. Of course they would meet again and repeat the same thing. Immediately I knew I had made a mistake to house them together and I straight away prepared 4 separate smaller housing for them.