The Web's Only Official All-Scorpion Forum!
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

The Web's Only Official All-Scorpion Forum!

HomePortalSearchLatest imagesRegisterLog in
ChatBox

i need help with heterometrus spnifer

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
mezzle992
Centruroides
mezzle992

Number of posts : 196
Registration date : 2010-06-26

i need help with heterometrus spnifer Empty
PostSubject: i need help with heterometrus spnifer   i need help with heterometrus spnifer Empty6/26/2010, 7:01 pm

hi
i am a complete newbie to this sort of animal i own tortoises, bearded dragons and boe constrictors but i have no experience with scorpions at all. i brought an Asian forest scorpion about to weeks ago he seems to be fairly active he is about 2 inches long and im worried about a few things.

1. molting has been a massive worry for me as i know they can lose limbs and possibly die from it. i have searched the internet and found next to no information on molting so i don't know if it needs a specific temperature and what the humidity should be and what happens if it goes wrong.

2. the tank has an artificial rock look background (exoterra) he climbs this often and then climbs on the mesh which it the top to his tank he doesn't climb down he just falls from the 1.5 feet down to the floor.

thanks
James
Back to top Go down
H. laoticus
Parabuthus
H. laoticus

Number of posts : 1401
Registration date : 2009-03-26

PostSubject: Re: i need help with heterometrus spnifer   i need help with heterometrus spnifer Empty6/26/2010, 10:28 pm

Hi there and welcome to the forum!

Here's a link on the care and such:
http://animal-world.com/encyclo/reptiles/scorpions/AsianForestScorpion.php

And here is one I found right on our forum Very Happy
https://scorpionforum.darkbb.com/caresheets-f29/pandinus-imperator-and-most-heterometrus-spp-tropical-forest-scorpions-t38.htm

The first one is pretty good and even talks about molting.