The Web's Only Official All-Scorpion Forum!
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

The Web's Only Official All-Scorpion Forum!

HomePortalSearchLatest imagesRegisterLog in
ChatBox

New here, have some questions

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
Lick496
Pandinus

Number of posts : 3
Registration date : 2008-10-22

New here, have some questions Empty
PostSubject: New here, have some questions   New here, have some questions Empty10/22/2008, 3:55 pm

So i am having some trouble finding caresheets on H. trilineatus, and C.sculpturatus... Anyone have any suggestions? Do these NEED heating lights?

Also, i have (supposedly) 2 B. jacksoni females, one of which is gravid. Is it a good idea to keep them communal, or would it be better to keep them seperated?.

Im a noob to scorps, just getting my first shipment today. I keep several tarantulas, however. im at 27 now
Back to top Go down
http://www.myspace.com/lick496
Mr. Mordax
Administrator
Mr. Mordax

Number of posts : 7743
Registration date : 2008-02-06

PostSubject: Re: New here, have some questions   New here, have some questions Empty10/22/2008, 4:30 pm

No scorpion NEEDS a heating light -- in southern California, the species you mentioned probably don't even need supplemental heat.

As for C. sculpturatus, just keep it warm to hot and dry, with vertical hiding places. Don't get stung -- this species packs a wallop and is the only "medically significant" species in the US.

About your B. jacksoni -- if they're both female, I'd suggest separating them, because WC females are almost always gravid. Post a pic and we can confirm if they're female (and if they're far enough along we can confirm gravid). Otherwise the adults of this species are fairly communal.
Back to top Go down
Lick496
Pandinus

PostSubject: Re: New here, have some questions   New here, have some questions Empty10/22/2008, 4:52 pm